Friday, July 24, 2015

Friend or Foe Friday

Instinct by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Being a teen is never easy...

Zombies, demons, vampires, shapeshifters-another day in the life of sixteen-year-old Nick Gautier-and those are just his friends. But now that he's accepted the demon that lives inside him, he must learn to control it and temper the very emotions that threaten the lives of everyone he cares for. Something that's hard to do while trying to stay off the menus of those who want his head on a platter. And no one wants him more than the dark gods who created his race. Now that they know where he is, they will stop at nothing to reclaim him. And without knowing it, Nick has just embraced the one person he should never have trusted. The one person who will hand him over to his enemies to get back the life they lost.

Nick has finally accepted his fate, now he must learn to defy his destiny, and the dark, deadly forces that will stop at nothing to destroy everyone he loves so that they can again return to the world of man and own it. 

I love this spin off on the Dark Hunter series but how in the world is she going to merge them??

I give this book 5 chocolate dipped strawberries.

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

The Lightning Struck Heart by TJ Klune @dreamspinners #REVIEW #ULTIMATEINDULGENCE

The Lightning Struck Heart, TJ Klune, Dreamspinner Press
Once upon a time, in an alleyway in the slums of the City of Lockes, a young and somewhat lonely boy named Sam Haversford turns a group of teenage douchebags into stone completely by accident.

Of course, this catches the attention of a higher power, and Sam's pulled from the only world he knows to become an apprentice to the King's Wizard, Morgan of Shadows.

When Sam is fourteen, he enters the Dark Woods and returns with Gary, the hornless gay unicorn, and a half-giant named Tiggy, earning the moniker Sam of Wilds.

At fifteen, Sam learns what love truly is when a new knight arrives at the castle. Sir Ryan Foxheart, the dreamiest dream to have ever been dreamed.

Naturally, it all goes to hell through the years when Ryan dates the reprehensible Prince Justin, Sam can't control his magic, a sexually aggressive dragon kidnaps the prince, and the King sends them on an epic quest to save Ryan's boyfriend, all while Sam falls more in love with someone he can never have.

Or so he thinks.

Put your sassy pants on before you read this one, cause you're gonna need them! One of the things that I love about a TJ Klune book is the banter and this one fulfilled all my wishes and then some. The characters in this one are bigger than life, and jump off the pages with confetti and glitter.

Now this book is not in any way, shape, or form a serious read,  but if you are looking for a well written, light hearted, but still have that heart ripped from your chest sensation then you have to read The Lightning Struck Heart.

Sam is a wizard. Oh sorry; wizard apprentice. Who just happens to get captured by Dark wizards....a lot. It's a good thing he has his trusty side kicks, Gary, a hornless, gay unicorn and Tiggy, a half giant that likes to smash things.

Then there is the dashing and immaculate Knight Delicious Face, or as most people call him Knight Commander Ryan Foxheart, the most put upon wizard ever, Morgan of Shadows and the sexually aggressive dragon Kevin. With a cast like this how could you have anything other than hilarity ensuing?

You will love this book for the back and forth repartee, but you will read it again for the gut-punch of emotion that happens at the most unexpected times. Here's hoping for a sequel!

This book gave me a throbbing heart boner!

RATING: 5 Chocolate-Dipped Strawberries. This book was given to us by Dreamspinner Press. Many thanks.


Friday, July 17, 2015

Finally Free Friday

Wolf's Capture by Eve Langlais

She might think she’s captured the wolf, but in the end, he’ll take her heart.

Brody is a soldier who misses the excitement of the military and its missions. He retired to work as clan beta in Kodiak Point. Talk about boring, until he's captured by a foreign enemy.

Him, a prisoner?

Not for long. This wolf will do anything in order to get away--even if it involves seduction.

First step in plotting his escape: pretend interest in a woman. But Layla isn’t just any woman. She’s special.

Not human. Not shifter. He doesn’t know what this exotic lady is other than his.

A prisoner for years, Layla isn’t sure what to make of the enemy who shares a cell with her. He promises her hope, but that would involve trust. Despite her doubts, she can’t help but be drawn to him. Unacceptable which means she does her best to drive him nuts.

Working together, can they escape the clutches of the enemy?

And do they dare fall in love?

I discovered this series back at Christmas and read a few more of them afterwards. Then soccer season happened and I lost my way but I found them again and I still enjoy them.

I give this book 5 chocolate dipped strawberries.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...