Tuesday, January 11, 2011


I want to start my blog by saying, Thank You, to all past, present and future members of our militaryand their families. In honor of Military week and the repeal of "don't ask, don't tell" I have a special treat to share with you all. A few years ago I found a series of books by Sean Michael called Jarheads, and I absolutely fell in love with the characters in these books. These three men are dedicated to their country and to the Corp but most of all they are dedicated to each other. There are six novels in this series and several short stories that take you through the years of their lives together.

The first book:Don't Ask, Don't Tell, tells the story of how James "Rock" South and Alex "Rig" Roberts meet. The two meet in Texas while Rock is there for some special training and Rig is finishing up nursing school. After some seriously HOT nights together Rock has to go back to North Carolina and Rig knows he can't live without him. So Rig follows him east and ends up working at the base hospital patching soldiers up as a flight nurse. When the two finally come back together it isn't easy but they work through the trials and tribulations.

The next book is:Personal Leave. In this book we learn a lot more about Rock's family when the two travel to New England after a death in his family. To say there is bad blood would be an understatement. When push comes to shove Rig decides that Rock is better off without his family and that he is all the family his marine needs. When a tragedy occurs in Rigs family it's Rock's turn to prove that Rig can lean on him as well.

In the third book in the series:3 Day Passes, there is a significant change in the relationship. Rock brings home "baby marine" Dick Main for the weekend and he doesn't leave. Adding a third to an already established relationship has its problems but it also has its rewards.

The 4th book in the series is:Tempering. It shows how the boys deal with a life shattering event, when Rig is a victim of gay bashing at the hands of some Marines. It is emotional and heart wrenching, but it is also uplifting to read how they come together and their relationship becomes stronger than it was before.

Book 5:Out of the Closet, is like a new beginning. Rock has retired from the Marines and the trio has moved to California where they can live openly for the first time. Not everything is sunshine and suntans though because life is messy.

In the last of the full length novels, so far:On the Sand, things are going well for the boys. Rock and Dick have opened a gym and Rig's PA practice is growing. The only problem, Rig doesn't have the energy he used to have and is afraid to tell his guys he might be sick. When Rig finally goes to the Dr. can he convince his two ex-Marines that he is on the road to recovery without them watching every move he makes?

These books cover several years and deal with so many things that happen in real life you will have to remind yourself over and over again that these are not real people. The sex scenes in these books are seriously smoking hot and some of the best that I have read. I became invested in their lives and their happiness, and when an author can do that.....you have a winner. I give the Jarhead Series 5 chocolate dipped strawberries.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for making a comment. We love to talk about books! To keep posted on everything going on with the Ndulgent Bloggers, FOLLOW us.

And, of course, INDULGE in something TODAY.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

NDULGE in Audiobooks

Aphrodite's Kiss
Like Honey
Tease Me
Uncovering You: The Contract
Breathe Into Me
Before You Break
When You're Ready
The Hazards of Skinny Dipping
The Rise of the Hotel Dumort
Being Chase
The Amazon's Curse
Night Games

Ndulgent Bloggers's favorite books »